Rads Market

A staple of CBD living, Adelaide Market was a familiar haunt for me when I first lived there. It was always a busy place, with a general hustle and bustle that belied Adelaide’s quieter nature.

Built under a massive roof, the enclosed market gave a taste of the various denizens of the city. Being so close to public transport links, I wondered how far some people travelled to come here. There was such an eclectic mix it revealed a diversity in Adelaidian population I might not have got anywhere else.

There were all sorts of fruit & veg sellers, furnishing shoppers with low priced apples, oranges, bananas, mangoes and every vegetable under the sun. Although I remember there had been a tropical storm in Queensland, devastating the banana crops and causing prices to sky rocket. By and large though it was affordable and plentiful.

Deli counters sold local cheeses and cured meats, giving access to the culinary delights of the region. There were cakes, coffee and other foodie treats to be found.

I went there a lot because it housed the local camera shop, and they processed black and white film. They had a display of old film cameras for sale, but had the annoying Australian habit of hiding the prices. Probably a good thing given my penchant for cameras at the time.

There was also a second hand book seller, which a nice selection of older science-fiction novels. I still have some of those books.

I didn’t spend very long in Adelaide, but the market was a highlight,allowing me to experience a little energy and flavour in a city that sometimes seems to cultivate its sedate qualities. I don’t think I’ve there in over 5 years, so I wonder how’s changed.

Leave a comment