Book Worm: researching a new personal project

You’d think, with all the masses of other writing to do, I wouldn’t be keen on taking up a new project. Maybe give it a few months, hold off, focus. Well, yes, it does make sense, but I’ve always been restless, and this is a project that’s been on my mind for a few years now.

So what is it?

Here’s the one liner – It is a book about Australian country communities and how the decline of rail has changed them.

I need to work on that. It imparts the dry, objective, description, but it lacks sexiness. It’s frumpy. It needs spark.

The working title is ‘The Beaten Track’.

The why’s and what for’s? I suppose I first had the idea living in Mount Gambier in South Australia. There was a derelict station and train line running right through the city (I believe some of it is now converted to public pathways – very smart). There were lots of little towns dotted about that at one time or another had a busy railway, mainly servicing industry. One little town, Kalangadoo, certainly caught my eye.

After travel in Tasmania, with disused train lines weaving their way up and down valleys, and the Western Australia, I came to see that the trains represented an era gone. At that point I began to think about these small communities and how much life must have changed since the industry, and the trains with it, vanished.

So my aim is to develop a book, using interviews with locals and photos, to tell the story of some of these small towns. For many towns the railways vanished decades ago, so if I’m still to reach those who were around at the time now is a good time to start.

Firstly, I need some research. I have zero knowledge about trains, their history or the context of Australian history. I need to know if it’s been done before, or whether there’s an avenue to introduce something a little different. So tonight I paid a visit to the state library in Perth. My little collection of books I reckon constitutes the near entirety of what has been written about trains and their communities. I’m sure more written material is available, particularly online, but the library was a good place to start.

I’ll need to look at the practical elements of a book like this, how to organise it, get testimony, interviews etc. All in good time.

For now I’ve got plenty to get me going, and start the project off. Choo Choo! 🚂🚞

Leave a Reply

