Boredom Lingers

Well this is a thing. I’m bored at work. It’s not that I don’t have work to do. It’s not that I find it unrewarding. It’s simply that I’ve run out of urgent things to do. The things I do need to do are done. Sure, there are things I would like to do to wrap up a few things here and there, but ultimately I have very little to manage at the moment.

Now, I could say that this is the price for excellent skills of planning and organisation. I mean, really, I could, because it is. Zero emails in my Inbox. ZERO! No tasks waiting for completion. Notes up to date. I’ve come into my system the way I left it – on top of my work and riding it like a bron…err, you know what, I’ll just stop at being on top.

I had time to read a short book – Five Go on a Strategy Away Day. Utterly hilarious. I was never a Famous Five person as a kid, but I did read the Secret Seven, so I loved the references to a rivalry between the FF and the SS (in the book, represented as two rival teams in the same company). A great guide to cliche and the despair of ‘team building’ days that seem anything but. 

I reckon I should indulge in the opportunity for some creative work, but the truth is I just don’t feel it. I’m happy riding in the calm. Is this what it feels like? To be on top of your work? I’m used to working at a much more frantic pace, something akin to a crazed hyena on acid (I imagine, having never observed such a thing before).

 I’m not complaining of course, it’s merely an observation. Perhaps if I’m at the same point next week (unlikely as I have booked ALOT of meetings) then perhaps I’ll start to think about prioritising some time.

It’s funny, for some time it felt like I was a lifeboat adrift in a stormy sea. Now I realise, for the lifeboat, you want some energy to keep moving and finally get rescued or get to land. Right now, I’m becalmed. It’s cruisey, but I ain’t no cruise liner.

Leave a Reply

