Time flies

Back into the maelstrom. That’s what it feels like. I can’t even remember the last time I did a blog post. Probably before November 2016. Now it’s 2017, back from European roadtrip and back to work, and back to blogging.

Ironically, it was writing that cast me aside into the online abyss, as I undertook to complete NaNoWriMo. There was distinct pleasure I completed it, finishing out at something over 50,000 words.

Unfortunately though, I was then left with a novel to complete. Some 25,000 further words later, and it’s still not finished. I edge closer to the finish line though and then left with the question ‘what the fuck do I do with this?’

I’ll worry about that in a few weeks. Once it’s done. I’ve got bigger fish to fry. I turn 38 on Friday, which coincides with the demagogue ‘s inauguration. Thank goodness for time difference, that’s all I can say, since it’ll be the 21st in Aus when Trumpety-Trump-Trump get’s shooed in.

And I’m back to work. Going in cold. It’s duty week, and I haven’t once checked my emails. I doubt any amount of preparation would prevent a “WTF?!” type reaction, so just go in cold.

And being back home. I’ve been here less that 3 days, but already feel right at home. Even the air smelt Australian on our return. Doggins has returned to the fold, so our routine is returning to normal pretty quickly.

I have a lot I want plan ahead. Still need to finish that book, then complete the various short stories that remain half finished, like a diabolical scientist who just let himself go. I restart my uni course too, so some added work to through into the mix. It’s time to furrowvthat brow and get serious.

Right after my first coffee. I intend to savour it, before opening my inbox.
Who the fuck am I kidding? That inbox will be the first thing I do when I get to the office.

Leave a Reply

