The climate change caper

This is going to be a short post today, possibly for the rest of the week. In addition to setting myself the target of completing a short story this week, I foolishly set myself the additional target of another short story. I would like to pretend that this is the literary equivalent of getting drunk with your best mate and waking up the next day to discover their name tattooed on your butt cheek, but it ain’t.

Truth is, the writing bug is back. I have this yearning to write. Energy, zest, the effects of enforced sobriety from a wine diet lasting two months. Call it what you will, but that urge is returned. 

The first short story is of my own motivation. The second though, is from Chuck Wendig’s Terrribleminds blog. He set a 2000 word limit on a short story, to be completed by this Friday. Foolishly I decided to give it a go. 

I am determined to complete something because this is usually the type of thing I enthusiastically agree to and then back out of after about a day. I want to make a go of this, so 400 words a day should not be insumountable. I’ll have to compete the other story in the evenings (but I managed 3000 words yesterday, so pretty good progress).

So for the 2000 job there was a random story generator using a list of 20 words. The idea is to pick 2 words from the list and write a story based on that. Using a random number generator I got ‘climate change fiction’ and ‘heist/caper’.

Make of that what you will. 400 words a day. On a bus. Piece of cake…

Leave a Reply

