Time Management 

Today I am presenting a learning and development session on time keeping and organisation. In the proper spirit of time keeping I actually left for work at a reasonable time, early enough to catch the bus in good order without rushing. When I got to the bus stop I noticed there was a good prospect of the sunrise, just before the sun was coming up. Me being me I pulled out my iPhone to get a shot. I figured I had a spare 10 seconds to get a shot and cross the road before the bus arrived. I made one cursory glance in the direction the bus comes from only to find the fucker was early. No photo, and quick dash across the road.

It’s a useful anecdote. One of the things o intend to talk about in L&D is the importance of routine, and that work does not operate in isolation from the rest of our life. Nipping across the road to grab a photo like that was a break in the routine, because I was trying to give up more time than I had. Yeah the bus was early, but that is hardly unique. 

I like my routine. I like writing this blog on the bus. I like my morning coffee. I like taking the time. That’s another little element of the L&D today – give yourself permission to take the time. 

I had considered different ways of presenting the L&D, including using advice from the Internet, or maybe using a Lynda.com video. In the end, I settled on simply describing how I organise my day and my time. It’s a good bet that most people already have their own ways of organising work, and their own routines, so trying to force that change is going to be less productive. Many of the people at the L&D probably have a good handle on their organisation. The opportunity is to learn from each other. 

If you’re wondering why I use the term Learning and Development ad infinitum instead of the more usual Training, I do have a reason. While I have a few occasional disagreements with my employers, one thing I do like is the (at least theoretical) belief that learning and development is something collective and mutual – everyone learns from each other. Training suggests a regimen that is imposed – a bit like the traditional format of school. It’s less flexible.

So that’s the basics of my plan for the day. I have some other bits and pieces about using Outlook as an organisational tool, but even then I’ll merely highlight it as a particular tool that can help. Hopefully it will all come together.

Coming to the end of my journey. Freo awaits, and on time.

Leave a Reply

